The Letter for The King by Tonke Dragt

This a book that one of our Belgium guests gave to me. His name is Eric. He came during our May half-term and we had a competition who would read more books. In the end I think Eric won – he had arrived with a  whole rucksack full of books! We both shared our passion for books. On leaving us, Eric gave me one of his favourite children’s books by a Dutch author. He had gone to Waterstones to get the book specially for me and it was such a sweet gesture on his behalf.

I would’ve finished this book sooner if it weren’t for all my new books coming in. Sorry about that!

“The Letter for the King” is the first Dutch book that I have read. The book has sold more than a million copies throughout the world, and of course a lot here in the UK.

The story started in a church. The entire room was pitch black and six young men were locked inside it. The reason they were locked in this church was because all of them wanted to be knighted the next day….

However, there was one young boy called Tiuri (Tiuri is only 16) , he had wanted to be a knight since the moment he was born. But then Tiuri looked out of the church window and his whole life changed. Outside there was a man dressed in a cape, who was knocking silently on the window so that only Tiuri could hear him. Tiuri looked at the man, confused, then the man mouthed at Tiuri to come outside. Tiuri hesitated, why should he go to this man and risk his chance of becoming a knight? After a few minutes Tiuri decided that he should go and see what this man  wanted. Tiuri sneaked out of the church and crept towards the man.  “Go into the woods and look for a knight, I cannot tell you anymore, the knight will tell you what to do.”

Tiuri was curious and excited he nodded his head and headed towards the woods. He saw a knight lying on the floor, the knight was dying.  Tiuri knelt beside the dying knight and had a short conversation before he died. Tiuri found out a lot of things , he found out that he was talking to the best knight that had ever lived. But the most important part of the conversation was that Tiuri had to deliver a important message to the king.

Tiuri has a mission and the entire world relies on him. He will face a lot of challenges, maybe even find a friend on the way, most importantly that death is around every corner. Will he get the message to the king on time? Read this amazing book to find out!

My favourite character was Tiuri because no matter what was ahead of him, he carried on. My least favourite character was Slither. Slither is the baddie in this story and would do anything to take the letter from Tiuri.

This book is definitely a 10/10! If you like lots of drama, mystery and cliff-hangers, well, this book if the right fit for you!

I’m absolutely going to say a big thank you to Eric, whose passion for reading was contagious!

  
 

7 thoughts on “The Letter for The King by Tonke Dragt

  1. Naomi, I’ am very pleased to read that this special book ( it was and it is one of my favorites) has charmed and captivated you.
    Thank you and to your family, for the warm hospitality
    Eric (from Belgiรซ )

    Like

  2. Naomi,
    I am really very pleased to read in this blog that the book “The letter for the King” has seized and captured you. It (was and it) stayed one of my favorite books. May I gratulate you with the amazing review ? I’ am convinced that one time, in the near future, you will be nominated for the Nobel Price literature , the same as I’am convinced that your little sister will go for the golden olympic medallion trampoline jumping.
    Thanks again ( and also thanks to your family) for your warm hospitality.
    Eric (not the norman, but de belg !)

    Like

  3. I am posting this for Eric

    Naomi,
    I am really very pleased to read in this blog that the book “The letter for the King” has seized and captured you. It (was and it) stayed one of my favorite books. May I gratulate you with the amazing review ? I’ am convinced that one time, in the near future, you will be nominated for the Nobel Price literature , the same as I’am convinced that your little sister will go for the golden olympic medallion trampoline jumping.
    Thanks again ( and also thanks to your family) for your warm hospitality.
    Eric (not the norman, but de belg !)

    Like

Leave a Reply

