Wicked The Musical

That’s right peeps, last Friday I went to Wicked the Musical.

My mum had bought the tickets well in advance, she bought them in May for a performance in October. It is so popular! It has become the 9th longest running show in the West End.

As soon as we stepped into the circle I was overwhelmed! We were in the famous Apollo Victoria Theatre. It was ginormous! You see I’m quite used to the RSC in Stratford-upon-Avon but this one is a lot bigger! We were at the very top of the entire auditorium and at first I thought we wouldn’t see a thing, but luckily my mum had brought binoculars. I used the binoculars to have a closer look at the background. It was ever so beautiful. I could hardly wait for the show to commence!


At 7:30 pm the show finally began . What a joy! The stage changed in front of our eyes, it was like a miracle.

The Musical is the untold story of the Wicked Witch of the West, who is a girl with green skin and who no one really likes- Elphaba. Her father had hated her since she was born. His love was all for his second daughter at whose birth Elphaba’s mother died. Elphaba’s sister was severely disabled at birth and unable to walk.  The two sisters went to study at the Shiz University of Magic ( almost like Harry Potter’s Hogwarts) . On leaving them at the Uni, the father gave the disabled girl a pair of beautiful silver shoes and nothing to Elphaba. His last words to her were: “Look after your sister!”  Suddenly all the other students of Shiz ran out of their hiding places and burst into a song – beautiful singing and dancing. Here came the beautiful blonde and a bit superficial girl, Garlinda ( with the “Gar”)and the adventures began.

Of course, I would stop here but it is a show you should certainly go and see. It is funny ( Garlinada is totally hilarious), it is romantic (yes, there is a handsome prince), it is scary, it is engaging and it is just superb. The cast, the lines, the music, the dancing, the costumes, the visual effects and the lights are mesmerizing…

Elphaba was played by Emma Hatton, with a very high pitched voice, I thought.  However, Glinda (Savannah Stevenson) was delightful, super funny and with a beautiful, melodic voice. She was my favourite and certainty the start of the night for me.

We weren’t allowed to take pictures during the show, so I’m afraid I don’t have any pictures of the amazing costumes and cast 😦  There were some noisy people sitting in front of us – this did not help and the attendants came walking up and down the steps telling people off for using their mobiles. Quite distracting.

The only bit that I didn’t like was when the statue of the Wizard of Oz talked -it was so loud that my entire body vibrated!

I would totally recommend this musical to anyone who might be popping into London for a visit ( don’t forget to plan in advance and get your tickets). I will remember this show for life. My mum even let me keep the tickets as a souvenir! 😊😊😉😋


One thought on “Wicked The Musical

Leave a Reply

